President Biden to award National Medals of Arts

Bruce Springsteen, Gladys Knight and Jose Feliciano are among the recipients

Share this:

Tomorrow President Biden will present National Medals of Arts to twelve individuals or organizations. This award is given to those who deserve special recognition for contributing to the growth, success, and availability of arts in the United States. The National Council on the Arts reviews nominations given throughout the year and then presents them to the President who then makes the final decision.

National Medals of Arts

National Medals of Arts Honorees

  • Judith Francisca Baca
  • Fred Eychaner
  • Jose Feliciano
  • Mindy Kaling
  • Gladys Knight
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus
  • Antonio Martorell-Cardona
  • Joan Shigekawa
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Vera Wang
  • The Billie Holiday Theatre
  • The International Association of Blacks in Dance

National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Chair Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., said, “The National Medal of Arts recipients have helped to define and enrich our nation’s cultural legacy through their lifelong passionate commitment. We are a better nation because of their contributions. Their work helps us see the world in different ways. It inspires us to reach our full potential and recognize our common humanity. I join the President in congratulating and thanking them.”

The event will be live-streamed at 4:30 pm ET from the White House. You can watch it by clicking here.

Related Articles